化妆和痘痘

化妆品性痘痘

在生活中您多多少少有使用一些化妆品:无论是用来遮掩黑斑,皮肤发红或者是增强自信。化妆品虽然不能完全掩盖痘痘和肿包,但是至少可以让它们看起来不那么严重。我有时候也会在长痘痘的时候化妆,能把痘痘盖住真是太开心了。

话虽如此,请注意化妆品和爆痘之间是有因果关系的。化妆品性痘痘是指由化妆品引起或加重的痘痘。虽然在20世纪70年代和80年代,皮肤科医生们发现化妆品是一个导致爆痘的严重问题,但随着现代配方的改进,它不那么普遍了。

尽管如此,买化妆品的时候还是要避免一些成分。有些化妆品成分可能会堵塞您的毛孔,加重“痘”情。要查清楚化妆品是否含有可能导致长痘痘的成分是很麻烦的,但如果您想保持无痘肌肤的话,这是不可或缺的一部分。

应该避免的化妆品成分

 

这份清单并不详尽,但据研究人员称,这些成分在导致化妆品性痘痘的几率中排名靠前。如果您能避免这些成分,那就再好不过,但如果您无法避免,那就只能查查测评了。

研究人员在活兔耳朵上测试了一系列成分,以检查痘痘的产生和刺激程度。(作为一个动物爱好者,我真的很讨厌在动物身上做化妆品测试,这就是为什么Skinlycious反对动物测试。)在兔子耳朵上,测试人员使用的是100%浓度。在化妆品配方中,我们不会使用如此高的浓度。因此,通过这项研究,我只可以保证,那些用了100%浓度也不起反应的成分一定是不长痘的。但我不能保证下面表中的所有成分一定会引起长痘。大多时候,这都取决于使用的浓度。

下表为致痘的成分表:

 

致痘成分表
致痘程度致痘成分
重度致痘异硬脂酸异丙酯肉豆蔻酸肉豆蔻酸酯奥列斯-3
劳瑞斯-4肉豆蔻酸异丙酯 
中度致痘乙酰化羊毛脂醇亚麻酸异丙酯硬质-10
异丙基异丙基甲酸酯月桂酸醋酸十六烷基酯
异硬脂基异硬脂酸酯PEG 16羊毛脂可可脂
PPG 5 Cetetg 10磷酸盐庚酸肉豆蔻酯椰子黄油
甘油-3-二异硬脂酸酯乙基己内酯异鲸蜡醇
鲸蜡硬脂醇+鲸蜡硬脂酯20油醇
致痘边缘小麦胚芽甘油酯奥列斯-5PEG 8硬脂酸酯
月见草油劳瑞斯-23油酸癸酯
苹果酸二辛酯PPG 10十六烷基醚棉籽油
氢化植物油硫酸化霍霍巴油玉米油
异戊酸酯新戊酸酯油酸异癸酯鳄梨油
PEG 200二月桂酸酯水溶性硫磺芝麻油
PPG 2肉豆蔻酸丙酸酯山梨酸油酸酯貂油
D&C红色色素#3,#17,#30,#36硬脂酸甘油酯SE豆油
肉豆蔻酸硬脂酸:TEA鲨鱼肝油
 硬脂酸丁酯

化妆品的选择

目前,我在用It Cosmetics的cc霜,丝芙兰就能买到。它不会让我长痘,而且覆盖效果很好,尽管我觉得它有点太厚重了。

过去,我使用的是M.A.C. Pro Longwear液体粉底,和他们的矿化粉底/散粉。虽然M.A.C的液体粉底确实含有一种引起痘痘的成分,即聚甘油-3二异硬脂酸酯,但我还在用它,因为我真的很喜欢M.A.C的液体粉底的质地和颜色。我也试过其他牌子的粉底液,但很多牌子的粉底液要么让我的皮肤显得干燥(凸显皱纹),要么浮粉,但M.A.C的粉底液效果很好,能提供正好的遮盖度。但是,我确实有注意到,如果我一整天都带妆,卸妆后,我脸上都会有小疙瘩(白头)。但是我并不太担心,因为我知道我可以通过使用护肤抗粉刺溶液解决他们,用了第二天就好。(现在被称为 酸性焕颜精华

虽然我喜欢M.A.C,但我还是决定改用Make Up Forever。我注意到换了牌子之后的不同。带妆一整天的皮肤也不会有小疙瘩了。不幸的是,Make Up For Ever 的Matt Velvet停产了,于是我又开始用It Cosmetics。我现在还在用,因为真的不爆痘。

卸妆

卸妆和面部清洁一定要做彻底!即使是有色保湿霜或防晒霜也是化妆品。大多数洗面奶不足以起到卸妆功效。在使用洁面乳之前,一定先使用卸妆液,除非洁面乳标明可以卸妆。我们的 舒敏洁面凝胶就可以卸妆,而且非常温和,对敏感肌肤特别有益。

你知道洁面乳会影响皮肤出油的速度吗?

我有用过一个出名品牌的micellar water 当我的卸妆水. 第二天早上醒来,我的皮肤变得超油。自从只使用Skinlycious的护肤品之后,我很久没有一觉醒来皮肤这么油过了。即使我早上刚洗过,到中午的时候又会很油,我才意识到那是micellar water惹的祸。这种情况真的很久没有发生在我身上了。

此后,我开始回忆我是如何尝试为正常皮肤设计一种洁面乳,加入到Skinlycious产品家族中。我们尝试了多次不同版本的不含硫酸盐的清洁剂,他们其中含有温和的表面活性剂,如: 可可甜菜碱,椰油酰甘氨酸钠,月桂酰肌氨酸钠。我试过的前几个版本在中午之前脸就又油了。于是我的化学专家和我一直在密切合作,改进配方。我是一个容易长痘痘,混合性皮肤的人,我尝试了10种不同的配方,但最后皮肤还是都起油了。我最好的朋友(她不长痘)也和我一起做了10轮测试。最初的几个版本也让她本来正常的皮肤在中午之前就开始变油。然而,随后的几个版本并没有使她的皮肤变油。那时我才知道,洁面乳可以有可能彻底改变你的皮肤结构,把你的正常皮肤变成油性皮肤。

Skinlycious 卸妆的诞生过程

我不喜欢卸妆油和卸妆乳类的卸妆产品,因为卸妆后脸上会有油光。正是因为我找不到我喜欢的卸妆液,所以我决定自己设计一款。

经过9个月的研发、测试和客户的反馈,我们最终于2016年9月推出Skinlycious Micellar 卸妆水。我们在发布前进行了数轮测试和投票。我们的测试基于易长痘的皮肤,因为如果在正常皮肤/动物皮肤上进行测试都会产生不同结果。

2020年,我们朝着清洁美容的方向发展,从Skinlycious中去除了人工香料和天然香料(即精油)。终于,在2020年十二月,我们终于发布了 舒敏洁面凝胶.  洁面凝胶具有更强的洁面能力,让您的皮肤感觉清爽洁净,不黏腻。更重要的是,它能让皮肤告别油腻。

我们把舒敏洁面凝胶的发展称为Irene的故事。在过去的一年里,我一直在我的实验室为Irene定制一种清洁产品,因为她不能使用市场上的任何其他清洁产品。定制的洁面乳改善了她的皮肤,但并没有完全解决她油性痘痘皮肤的问题。但在使用洁面凝胶的3天内,Irene反馈说她的皮肤干净了,而且可以更持久的保持干爽。

如果想了解更多关于Skinlycious Micellar Cleansing Water和舒敏洁面凝胶开发的故事细节,请 点击这里.

其他护肤小技巧

记得定期清洁化妆刷,可以用酒精去洗化妆刷。在我使用散粉或腮红之前,我会把化妆刷放在蘸有70%酒精的化妆棉上擦拭一下,这样可以杀死细菌。等酒精蒸发(非常快)之后再使用。

避免使用海绵/气垫
海绵和目前很流行的气垫都是细菌的滋生地。我个人更喜欢用干净的手指涂抹,或者用酒精消毒过的刷子。

Makeup and Acne | Comedogenic Ingredients to avoid | Acne Skin Makeup

Makeup and Acne

Acne Cosmetica

Whether it is to conceal the dark marks that are improving, conceal skin redness, or boost self-confidence, you might be using some makeup. Even though acne bumps can’t be covered by makeup, at least it doesn’t look all angry and red. I, too, used makeup when I had acne. It made me feel better.

Having said that, do note that there is a causative relationship between makeup and acne. Acne Cosmetica refers to acne caused by or aggravated by cosmetics. Although it was a major concern in the 1970s and 1980s where dermatologists reported a significant problem, it’s not as prevalent now with improved formulations.

Nonetheless, there are some cosmetic ingredients to avoid when shopping. Comedogenic ingredients are those that clog up your pores and make your acne worse. Manually checking an ingredient list for the presence of comedogenic ingredients can be tiresome, but should be part of the discipline if you want to maintain acne-free skin.

Cosmetic Ingredients to Avoid

The list is not exhaustive, but according to researchers, these ingredients are high on the list of comedogenic ingredients. Essentially, if you can avoid these ingredients, it would be best but if you are unable to, you may have to test it out on yourself or rely on reviews.

Researchers tested a list of ingredients on live rabbit ears to examine the comedogenicity and irritancy level. (Being an animal lover, I really hate it when cosmetics are tested on animals, which is why Skinlycious is against animal-testing.) On the rabbit ears, they use a 100% concentration, which is really high. In cosmetic formulations, we do not use such high concentrations. Thus, through this study, I can only infer that those that are non-comedogenic at 100% will definitely not be comedogenic. But I cannot for sure say that below comedogenic ingredients will definitely cause acne. A lot of times, it all comes down to the concentrations used. 

Below is the table of comedogenic ingredients:

 

Comedogenicity Table
Comodogenic LevelComedogenic Ingredients
Highly ComedegenicIsopropyl isostearateMyristyl MyristateOleth-3
Laureth-4Isopropyl Myristate 
ComedogenicAcetylated Lanolin alcoholIsopropyl linolateStearth-10
Isopropyl palimitateLauric acidCetyl Acetate
Isotearyl isostearatePEG 16 lanolinCocoa butter
PPG 5 Cetetg 10 phosphateMyristyl heptanoateCoconut butter
Glyceryl-3-diisostearateEthylhexy palimitateIsocetyl alcohol
Cetearyl alcohol + ceteareth 20 Oleyl alcohol
BorderlineWheat germ glycerideOleth-5PEG 8 Stearate
Evening primrose oilLaureth-23Decyl Oleate
Dioctyl malatePPG 10 cetyl etherCotton Seed oil
Hydrogenated vegetable oilSulfated jojoba oilCorn Oil
Isosteary NeopentanoateIsodecyl oleateAvocado oil
PEG 200 dilaurateWater-soluble sulferSesame oil
PPG 2 myristyl propionateSorbritan OleateMink oil
D & C red #3, #17, #30, #36Glyceryl stearate SESoybean oil
Myristic acidStearic acid:TEAShark liver oil
 Butyl Stearate 

Choice of Make Up

Currently, I am using the cc cream from It Cosmetics, available in Sephora. It doesn’t break me out, and the coverage is pretty good although I find it a bit too thick. 

In the past, I was using M.A.C. Pro Longwear Liquid Foundation followed by their Mineralize Foundation/loose powder. Even though M.A.C’s liquid foundation does contain one comedogenic ingredient, i.e. polyglyceryl-3 diisostearate, I was still using it as I really liked the coverage and color of M.A.C’s liquid foundation. I have tried other brands of liquid foundation but many either made my skin appear dry (enhancing lines) or cakey but M.A.C’s liquid foundation just glides on providing seamless coverage. However, I did notice that if I wear my M.A.C. makeup for a whole day, when I removed my makeup, I had little bumps (whiteheads) all over my face. I wasn’t too worried as I knew I can get rid of those bumps easily by applying Skinlycious Anti-acne solution(now known as Glow Exfoliant). They would be almost gone by the next day after application.

However, I decided to switch to Make Up For Ever although I still prefer M.A.C’s coverage. I did notice the difference after the switch. No more little bumps after wearing makeup for a whole day. Unfortunately, Make Up For Ever discontinued their Matt Velvet and I switched to It Cosmetics. Still using it now as it doesn’t break me out. 

Choice of Make Up

Make sure that you do thorough cleansing and removal of your makeup. Even those with tinted moisturizer or sunscreen are considered makeup. Most facial cleansers are not sufficient for makeup removal. You would need to use a makeup remover before a cleanser unless the cleanser specifies that it is able to remove makeup.

Do you know that a cleanser can affect how fast your skin oils up?

I was trying out a pioneer brand of micellar water as a makeup remover. The next morning, I woke up with a very oily complexion. I have yet to wake up with oily skin ever since using only Skinlycious skin care products. It didn’t occur to me it was the Micellar Solution until my skin oiled up again by noon even after I had washed it in the morning. This had not happened to me for a long time.

Thereafter, I recalled how I was trying to formulate a cleanser for normal skin to add to the Skinlycious brand. We were testing out and trying different versions of sulfate-free cleansers with milder surfactants such as Coco Betaine, Sodium Cocoyl Glycinate, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate. The first few versions I tried oiled me up by noon. My chemist and I worked closely to improve the formulations. I, with acne-prone and combination skin, have tried 10 different formulations, but all gave me an oily complexion though the last version was not as bad. My best friend, who has normal acne-free skin, went through the 10 rounds of testing with me. The first few versions made her normal skin oil up by noontime as well. However, the subsequent versions did not cause her skin to oil up. That was then when I learnt that a cleanser could totally change your skin structure, possibly altering a normal skin complexion to an oily one.

The Birth of Skinlycious Makeup Remover

I don’t like oil and milk makeup removers as they leave an oily feeling on my face right after removing makeup. Since I couldn’t find a makeup remover that I liked, I decided to formulate one.

After 9 month of R&D, testing and getting feedback from my top customers, we finally launched Skinlycious Micellar Cleansing Water in September 2016. We went through rounds of testing as well as voting before we launch. We tested on acne-prone skin because testing on normal skin or even on animals just does not yield the same results. Details of how Skinlycious Micellar Cleansing Water was formulated can be read from this blogpost.

I am happy that I can remove makeup without having eeky after-feel. More importantly, it cleanses well and doesn’t oil up my skin.

Other Skincare Tips

Remember to Clean Your Makeup Brushes Regularly You can clean your makeup brush with alcohol. Before I apply my loose powder or blusher, I would brush my makeup brushes on a cotton pad soaked with 70% alcohol to kill any bacteria. Let the alcohol evaporate (which is very quick) and use it thereafter.

Avoid Sponges / Cushions
The sponges and the current trend of cushions are breeding grounds for bacteria. I prefer using my clean fingers to apply foundation and brushes that I can sterilise with alcohol.